Thunderbird Style Editor, Web Console, Network Monitor and Profiler

As you can see in my earlier post, I have worked on giving the Firefox developer tools access to Thunderbird using the remote protocol. Ultimately this means you will be able to debug and profile scripts, edit styles, view network traffic and view console messages.

Previously, I was able to make the debugger work, which was the most important feature to my mind. Now that the mid-terms are coming up soon, I thought I’d give you an update on what I have achieved. After fixing a few bugs in the developer tools code, I was able to add the remaining actors needed for the profiler, web console and style editor. The network monitor actually worked out of the box.

The code is not yet reviewed or pushed to the tree, so you cannot test it just yet. To bridge the gap, I’d like to present a few screenshots where you can see its working.

This is the web console in action. As you can see, evaluated JavaScript in the web console in Firefox executes in Thunderbird:Devtools Web Console in Action
 

This is the style editor. You can do everything you can do in Firefox: Disable style-sheets, change style rules, or add new ones. Here I’ve changed the #today-pane-panel background color to red:Devtools Style Editor in Action

 

This is the network monitor. You can see the Lightning calendaring extension connecting to a CalDAV server. In this case I have just added the New Event, which sends a PUT request to the server. Pure socket connections like IMAP are not visible yet, but anything that is HTTP will show up. I will be looking into adding socket connections to the network monitor after the midterms:Devtools Network Monitor in Action

 

Finally, the profiler in action. I was able to start the profiler in Firefox, then I did some random actions in Thunderbird. The profiler analyzed which functions were executed how often and how long they took and I could inspect the result in Firefox:Devtools Profiler in Action

 

If you want to track my progress on a more detailed level, head over to this issue on bugzilla and put yourself on the CC list. There you will also see what is left to do. I will add a comment there when the current patches are pushed and usable in the nightly builds.

2 thoughts on “Thunderbird Style Editor, Web Console, Network Monitor and Profiler

  1. Well , Fist of all thank you for the work you put into this project, i belive if that works at the end as you describe then this will be probably the start of new addon development cycle for Thunderbird.

    going to definitelly track 876636 .

    Regards,

    Konstantin

  2. Pingback: Thunderbird Developer Tools Wrapup | Philipp Kewisch

Leave a Reply

